What is a Blog?

I remember a time (way back about a year or two ago) when I was unaware what a blog was.

The idea of a blog caught my interest greatly, and I was actually inspired to start one because of how helpful Henrik Edberg’s Positivity Blog is.

So I did what you should do: Turn to the “big-name” blogging sites.

The Problem?

The problem for me was that although the tips on those sites are almost always very useful, they didn’t teach a base understanding of what a blog is. They were throwing around all these terms like SEO, WordPress, Thesis, article marketing, Adsense, and I had no clue what they were talking about; I didn’t even know what a blog really was!

What is a Blog?

A blog is a website that teaches people how to do something (personal blogs are also out there) through regular articles called “posts.” This would be considered a post.

A blog also should have a design that allows people to navigate easily (this blog’s is not amazing; but it gets the job done), static pages that give more in-depth coverage on the topic, often videos and e-books.

What’s so Great About a Blog?

I used to have a website (this was back about four years ago) that was very popular; a few thousand visits a day, but I found a blog much more fun.

  • Interaction—On a static website, there isn’t much interaction between the readers and the authors, but on a blog, when you’re posting regularly, you get feedback through the comments also regularly. This helps build a strong connection between you and your readers
  • More Information—Because you’re posting everyday, you can give more information, and keep your readers more informed with something called “feeds.”
  • Perks—As bloggers, we get to be a part of tons of great blogging communities, through very supportive people. We also get to use things like Twitter and Digg which wouldn’t really matter as much on a website; the possibilities are endless.

A Blog or a Website?

That’s a short list, and I’m leaving much out, but an important question you have to ask yourself is: “Should I create a blog, or a website?”

No Right or Wrong

There’s really no right or wrong answer here, because both are great. You get tons of traffic either way, and they have separate advantages. I’ll talk about that later in the day.

3 Responses to What is a Blog?

  1. […] or Website? Earlier today, we took a look at what a blog is. Now it’s time to see whether a blog or a website is right for […]

  2. […] do I get a Blog? Earlier today, we took a look at what a blog is and whether you should you use a blog or a […]

  3. Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work
    due to no backup. Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

Leave a Reply

