Should You Social Network? Part One

It is basically a given today to social network. Almost everyone these days is on Myspace, Facebook, Twitter, etc.

Social Networking certainly has it’s advantages: It’s easy to do, it’s free, you can connect with your friends, you can make new friends, you can keep up with the lives of your favorite stars, and, most importantly for bloggers, slyly market their blog(s)/website(s).

However, it has always been a big question for me whether or not to be on these sites.

I run this blog for one reason: To teach you about electronics. If I wanted to gain something from this, then I would charge you for it. In fact, 3% of my subscribers will get my book on building a better blog for free. I really care about you, and I’m not sure whether I’m going to add adds or not, but if I do, they certainly don’t hurt you.

Being on these sites is different. Unless you are trying to market something, it is basically a fun thing to do, but in the grand scheme of the world, a waste.

Now, I am not saying that is a bad thing; if you enjoy it, then by all means, do it. However, just be sure to follow these guidelines.

Note: Marketers should be on those sites, and I will be soon, but you should try to keep it related to your blog. Sure, I make tweets about when I’m leaving, my personal life, etc. But I think that a good rule of thumb for you to use is to spend about as much time being personal on these sites as it would take you to make a post, or write an article, etc. Of course, if you’re also on there for fun and you meet my guidelines, then there’s nothing wrong with spending more time then you need to on them.

However, for those of you who aren’t looking to market, social networking has the purpose of people having fun. I know you love to have fun; we all do, but here’s my guide to know whether or not to be on social networking sites, which is broken down into a number of posts:

  1. Do you have enough time?

I know that many people say that there’s always time for fun, but you have to remember that you didn’t have this before. If you find that you are having trouble finding time or getting things done, then it might be a smart idea to cut out some time or eliminate it completely. If you don’t have any other fun in your life, then maybe you should continue with the same time.

If you are always struggling to find time, then find out where your time really goes (insert link to Henrik Edberg’s post). If you find that if you simply cut out some time networking, you would have more than enough time, then it might be a smart idea to do it. However, if you play video games, then cut out that instead; cut out the least important things until you have enough time.

Remember, having fun is one thing; getting your work done is another.

Part two of series in two days.

Leave a Reply

